How We Met

With online dating abounding in today’s dating world, it’s rare there are the organic heat-of-the-moment “how we met” stories anymore. That doesn’t mean I don’t think online dating doesn’t have its great stories and how we met stories (clearly—this blog has dozens of them for proof!). But there’s just something fun about meeting someone when you aren’t looking.

Take for instance one dear friend of mine. He was in the middle of what would turn out to be a very painful divorce but was ready to start looking around for a dating buddy. But, like all of us, was daunted by the task. We all feel like we are such snowflakes that how can anyone else possibly have our weird interests or preferences or quirks. Or kinks.

He was lamenting to a friend at a bar and questioning if he would ever find anyone else who would like to be tied up, flogged, and love anal sex.

Someone turned around and said “dude you should meet my sister! You’d be perfect!”

Silence.

Because…WHY DO YOU KNOW THAT?! And is that really a good leading line into meeting someone?! But my friend was intrigued and gladly accepted an offer of introduction.

They are still together, two years later. And their story is one of my top 5 favorite how we met stories.

Another favorite is one of my relatives. He’s an avid amateur photographer and has won many awards. And of course he has a fantastic Instagram account.

One day, someone posted a comment on a photo. He commented back. And a conversation started.

Eight years later, and they are happily married.

One of my personal favorites involves a slightly douchy move on my part, but it was a good move for me at the time. I was on a first date with a truly good human. Which was probably why I didn’t feel it on my end. I wasn’t in the mood for good…I was in the mood for trouble. As usual for that time in my life.

We met at what would go on to be the world’s largest squirt gun fight. True to the Bostonian settings, it was a Colonials vs. Brits format. You singed up for the fight and were randomly assigned a team and a ‘secret’ meeting location to march on each other. I was a Brit. So was my date. We met up with a bunch of people and I immediately noticed the cute blond. He also noticed me and wasted no time in starting a conversation.

The battle cries began and we shifted into fight mode. The armies marched at each other across the Esplanade. Kids armed with Super Soakers…adults armed with dollar store guns…others armed with nothing more than water bottles they dumped on people. Hundreds of people having good, clean fun. It was glorious.

(If you ever find yourself in one of these situations, pro tip:  kids aim for eyeballs. If you wear contacts, wear goggles!)

Cute Blonde Dude (CBD) (and yes that’s the perfect acronym. He was a fun painkilling high the whole time we dated and for long after) and I found each other after (with my date at my side of course) and rallied a group to go out for desserts and then beers. We didn’t want the day to end and us to leave each other’s sides. CBD and I discreetly chatted when we could at first…and gradually progressed to more pointed conversation. My date and I just didn’t have enough in common to keep talking, but I also tried my best to not ignore or ditch him. CBD discretely slipped me his phone at one point and I knew we were starting something that sunny, damp, fun-filled Sunday afternoon.

If you have read any of my earlier entries, CBD would become my FWB guy, and be the reason I got a sphinx. Clearly that day was the start of my life changing in so many ways. Some not so great…but also he spurred me to dig deep about boundaries and escaping constraints of a very religious upbringing.

He also gave me the best advice anyone has ever given:  touch is important, dude. Until then, I shied away from hugs, touch, anything intimate. He helped me grow into a hugger and a cuddler and someone who reaches out for people who need it. It broke down so many painful walls in my life and forced me to let people in.

And I love that our how we met story was ‘well we met while at the world’s largest squirt gun fight and I was on a date with someone else.’

Published by

DateLaughter

West coast gay gender queer sharing their dating stories to create community around this crazy thing that everyone looking for a relationship has to endure. So many bad moments occur...but they can so frequently be turned into your best (and funniest) stories. This is the platform of my dating trials and tribulations told from my sarcastic viewpoint. It will also include some stories and reflections on friends' experiences. No actual relationship stories will be in here and, though I will give some identifying details away, only those people will actually recognize them. If you recognize yourself...well...at least you were memorable? And please don't take it too hard--I'm sure you know this date didn't go well. And the name? DateLaughter? Yeah. Double meaning intended. Because you should laugh at the bad dates, and find someone who makes you laugh. Go find your date laughter and tell us all about it!

Leave a comment