Missed Connections

So for my writing group, we are working on individual pieces on connection. Which is a perfect topic for me to tackle. Dating and relationships are all about connection: having it, or (more entertainingly) not having it.

We need to find someone we connect with to be able to start a relationship. Someone who makes us feel safe and trusted and taken care of. It always amazes me just how unique that combination has to be for everyone to work. Like, I adore many of my friends’ partners.

But I’ll never date them. Or even want to.

Because I know that we won’t connect in the right ways. And to me, connection is key.

But what works for some may not work for others even though they are friends. Like this aaaamazing situation my friend recently witnessed. She was at a party, and one of her friends decided to bring the woman he had been dating for a few weeks with him. Let’s call them Joe and Sara. They made the rounds, and Joe was introducing Sara left and right. At one point, his best friend (let’s call him Steve) walked in a bit late and came over to say hi.

Then things got awkward.

When Joe went to introduce his date, Steve got awkward and so did Sara.

Why?

Because Steve and Sara had gone on a date. That clearly went terribly. And now she was dating Steve’s best bud…and would be stuck dealing with a guy she clearly didn’t like.

Yeah, this is terrible for them. I mean, awkward city, and a truly difficult sitch.

For the rest of us?

Hilarious. And many of us have either been in that exact situation, or something similar enough to relate and breathe a sigh of relief that it’s not them in this position.

Because with the advent of online dating, you date a lot of people. A LOT of people. And even in a city, it’s still a fairly small pool, so you date pretty much all the same people. My friends now show me who they are going on dates with and odds are I know one in five of the people they will show me.

Yikes.

But also…good fodder for this blog!

Like the time I was dating this dude for a few weeks. I thought we were becoming exclusive. He clearly didn’t. And started sleeping with someone my roommate was good friends with. My roommate informed both of us and I was given the pleasure of dumping him before she got to.

Guys, free tip: girls talk and they all seem to know each other.

And as a free tip in general:  be careful who you piss off or brush off. Because you may have to continue to deal with them.

Published by

DateLaughter

West coast gay gender queer sharing their dating stories to create community around this crazy thing that everyone looking for a relationship has to endure. So many bad moments occur...but they can so frequently be turned into your best (and funniest) stories. This is the platform of my dating trials and tribulations told from my sarcastic viewpoint. It will also include some stories and reflections on friends' experiences. No actual relationship stories will be in here and, though I will give some identifying details away, only those people will actually recognize them. If you recognize yourself...well...at least you were memorable? And please don't take it too hard--I'm sure you know this date didn't go well. And the name? DateLaughter? Yeah. Double meaning intended. Because you should laugh at the bad dates, and find someone who makes you laugh. Go find your date laughter and tell us all about it!

Leave a comment